How To: Let Loose the STD’s

Yeah, I know that sounds ten kinds of wrong…but I like it that way.

So the Save the Dates have been sent. Finally. It was a birthday gift to myself,

and I did feel the smallest twinge of relief shoving them into the mail slot at

my local post office. I wanted there to be some sort of big emotional, I dunno “feeling” I guess, kind of like sending off your college admission acceptance forms or something, but honestly, I was so tired of looking at those damn

things, I felt almost nothing. The feelings came later when guests started emailing and facebooking about how they liked the std’s. That made me very happy and I admit,

totally self-satisfied. I was like “ha. All that work SO paid off.” Of course I simultaneously thought this “screw hand calligraphy-ing, DIY pocketfolds, and any other insane ideas I had for the invites, these were hard enough.”

Eh.

Anyways, the STD’s were a process, mostly because 1. I didn’t buy enough paper to make the number of envelope liners I needed the first time around 2. I constantly messed up when printing envelopes and because I am slow on the uptake, instead of running a test paper through the printer to recheck alignment, I’d run a fresh envelope through there. UGH.  I threw away about 20 envelopes! 3. I had the world’s WORST corner-round puncher 4. I dragged my feet. I never set aside a time to just finish the project.

Despite this experience being a long, drawn-out “process,” I was, as previously stated, very happy with the results, and in retrospect, if I had just had my sh*t together, things would not have been so difficult. Here’s a photographic journey for you (complete with cats, as I started the std’s whilst housesitting):

Never ever buy a corner punch like this. It will hurt your neck and shoulder and you will get stigmata-esque blisters on your palm!

OK. So. When I had the std’s printed, I chose a matte finish on high quality paper. In white. Ugh. Since we’re aiming for an navy/ivory theme, the white came off as pretty garish, especially when compared to the cream envelope. Plus I wanted to print the wedding website on the back of the save the date, and the thought of putting my newly-printed std’s through my printer freaked me out. Instead I decided to buy some paper the same size as the std card in cream and simply double-side tape roller it to the std. This was an easy project until I decided to round the corners on the std’s, requiring separate “rounding” sessions for both postcards and backings. Yes, it was an insane decision….but I really liked the result:

Most people probably think me INSANE for putting so much effort into the corners, but I like the finished look.

Next, it was time to throw those cream cards through the printer. I decided for a simple message referring to our wedding website. I took a chance with navy font – my printer is not the most up to date technology, and I had just replaced the ink cartridge, so I was a little wary of how the navy font would appear on the cream colored paper. Luckily, this part was relatively easy.

Luckily, I liked how the navy font looked on cream paper...

The kittens just wanted to play. Kitteh says “I mock ur efforts”

Kitteh also says "No more DIYing!"

As a little bonus to the wedding party members, I made an extra notecard for each of their std’s. Because guests have already started reserving rooms in our hotel block, I really wanted to give the wedding party a little nudge about reserving rooms. Their std’s went out a week ahead of everyone else’s. I hope they believed me when I said rooms were going fast…

I remembered to send these to each of the wedding party members...except one groomsman. Whooops.

Now you all know how I ‘trol the wedding blogs. Weddingbee is a particular favorite, and I discovered the glory of DIY calligraphy on the ‘bee. Look at this post – DIY calligraphy has never been more glorious! or easy!! RIGHT?

WRONG.

Things started OK. The size of the std envelopes kept me from choosing a larger font size, but I figured that this wouldn’t be a big deal given my mad calligraphy skillz. I had practiced with a fabulous gold pen on a piece of paper. It’d be pretty much the same, right?

Gold text. Blech.

The “gold” I chose came out this ugly greenish color. Yuck. But I didn’t get too stressed about it – I was going to trace over it with my sparkly gold pen.

Scriptina is not a good font choice for DIY faux calligraphy

Oh disaster. I hated everything about the look of this envelope. The pen was messy, the tracing took away from the beauty of the Scriptina font. Ugh. I  set aside envelopes to work on the liners, a particularly odious task. After finishing with those, I had to stick the backs with the website on them to the std fronts. They really looked beautiful:

The Save the Dates from Printable Press are really lovely

Next, I worked on getting the liners in the envelopes. It was NOT as bad as I thought it would be, especially because I had had, at some point, the sense to invest in a bone folder, which made refolding the envelope flap post-liner insertion much easier. I also chose to put the std’s in the envelope with the backs facing out to make sure that people saw the website…in case they don’t tend to turn their mail over. I know I’m insane, believe me, I know.

The vellum liners looked even nicer than I hoped!

I had bought a return address stamp on Etsy a few months ago – and totally loved the final result. I eagerly stamped away at our bridal party std’s and let them dry overnight, for almost 12 hours. I gathered them together the next morning, planning to lick them and stamp them at the office before work. When I arrived in Boston and took my invites out they were streaked, yes STREAKED with blue ink. I can’t even tell you how PISSED I was after all that ridiculous work. Luckily I had this:

The Magic of Magic Rub. Source.

This was left over from my calligraphy days in college, and has a history of getting me out of many scrapes and disasters. The std-pocalypse was no exceptions – no, it did not erase every trace of navy ink streaking the envelopes I so lovingly printed and lined, but it made them send-able. I did have to redo two of the worst-looking, but all in all, Magic Rub saved my ASS. Needless to say, I had to come up with a plan for my remaining 87 std’s, which is where my embosser came in handy. I bought some clear embossing powder, moved to a big table and stamped and embossed about 10 envelopes at a time. Easy-peasy.

I had to learn the value of embossing the return addresses the hard way

Once the embossing was finished, the only thing left to do was lick and stick…with coordinating stamps of course:

I liked the final product!

So there it is. I settled on navy font, which saved me an enormous amount of time compared to DIY faux-lligraphy, plus I came to really love the combination of scriptina and copperlate gothic. I am even thinking of reviving this look for the invites, but I am still vulnerable to being sucked into the vortex of faux-lligraphy. Anywho.

Next up are the invites. A bit daunting, considering I’m trying to save some cash by making my own pocketfolds. Part of me says “GO FOR IT!” Then I remember all the std drama….but then again, I think “maybe I’ve learned all my lessons and the invites will be flawless!” Hmm, here’s to wishful thinking!

Sadly, there will not be any kitties involved when it comes to invite making, unless Jam buys me a pet kitten, lol. I think that’s ok, since they became about as anti-save-the-date as I did:

NO MORE - I hide my eyes to make the crafting go away..

I have taken the paper cutter hostage. No MORE wedding crafts!

3 thoughts on “How To: Let Loose the STD’s

  1. Pingback: How To: Make (sort of) Your Own Invitation Suite Pt I | Jamaal + Allison = Jamaallison

  2. Pingback: How To: Make (sort of) Your Own Invitation Suite Pt II | Jamaal + Allison = Jamaallison

Leave a Reply

