Shoetastic

I think I’ll keep the final product a surprise until the wedding, but for now I can’t help it, I have to share my DIY shoe project with the internets.

First of all, I want to admit that this is by no means an original idea. I totally stole this from a person on weddingbee (post link here) and were it not for the person who goes by “TheRen” I would have never seen anything like what I’m about to show you. OK, that’s a lie, because what this is is a takeoff on strass Louboutins., which I had seen before, but did not think they were attainable/reproduce-able in any way, shape or form.

Anyways, I’ve talked about my quest for the perfect shoe before – well, I knew Louboutins would blow the budget, especially after my car needed about a grand in repairs, blowing my little tax return cushion. I resigned myself to finding nice, but fairly budget-friendly shoes. Once I discovered the beauty of the strass, I became obsessed. First I was going to try and find a pair of navy shoes to bejewel, but then I realized how amazing a simple pair of ivory peep-toes would look encrusted with Swarovski crystals. Hells yes.

The weird thing was that I could not find a pair of ivory peep-toe pumps anywhere. I looked locally in Aldo, DSW, multiple Macy’s, TJ Maxx, Marshall’s, Famous Footwear, and even some random wholesale place an old coworker took me to, then endlessly online. It seemed as though the shoes I wanted had gone into hiding – how hard is it to find an ivory peep-toe pump? UGH.

My coworker suggested Payless. I am a shoe wh*re. I am not above a DSW or Famous Footwear by any means, trust me, but I have been burned by the crap that can be a Payless shoe. Finally, out of desperation, I went into my local Payless. I went to the abysmal size 10 selection, and there, on the bottom shelf, was a pair of ivory satin-y peep-toe slingbacks. The price? $15.Β  I can’t even find them online anymore, so God only knows how long they had been languishing there. Naturally, I snapped them up. If my strassing project turned out to be a complete and total disaster, at least I’d have only wasted $15 on the shoes.

Next up I spent endless hours on the internet, trying to figure out rhinestone size, number and color. Then I had to invest in a hotfix tool. OK, I didn’t have to, but I did have to replace the cheap rhinestone fixing tool I bought at Michael’s for 5,99. If anyone is going to do this project, get a JoAnn’s coupon, go online, and buy a real hotfix tool with interchangeable tips! It’s WORTH IT.

When I finally had gathered all my supplies, I sat down in front of the Boston Marathon live coverage and started strassin’ away. Here’s what I had after about 5 hours of solid work:

Last weekend I was able to put a little more work into them, particularly filling the empty spaces seen above with smaller crystals. I have to pat myself on the back with this one, I’m loving the results so far:


Yeah. I’m smitten πŸ™‚

If there’s any interest, I’d love to put a tutorial together in the coming months. I definitely don’t want to steal anyone’s thunder since I didn’t come up with the craft, but I haven’t seen too many tutorial’s out there and I think they’d help…or at least give me the opportunity to photograph my shoes ad nauseum. Tee hee.


3 thoughts on “Shoetastic

  1. Oh. My. God! I even saw these in person last weekend and I am STILL blown away by the glory. You’ve put in so much work! The tiny crystals look amaaaazing. I’d love to see a tutorial because it doesn’t make sense to me that it would take so long to do these. Do you have to wait for the glue to set? I guess in my head it seems like those perfectly placed crystals just jumped out of the box and onto your shoe. Details please!

  2. tee hee hee I will do a tutorial. You could totally do this EE. You are one of the most meticulous crafter’s I’ve met, so it might take you longer, but you could definitely bedazzle your own heels πŸ˜‰

    • God I am so freaking meticulous, aren’t I? I find it satisfying…though it means my output is a sliver of what yours is! And your stuff still looks amazing….where is the lesson here? I think there’s one for me. MORE IMPORTANTLY HOWEVER, is where is Jammy Jam is going to wear his bedazzling? Wing tips? Cummerbund? Necktie? You know he’s going to want to sparkle too….. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

