How To: Make Your Own Hair Flower

I absolutely loved the veil I picked out when I bought my wedding dress. It was the perfect length and style, and I thought the beaded lace trim matched my dress perfectly. Recently, when I was preparing my dress and veil for cleaning and preservation, Jam noted that while my dress probably wouldn’t be worn again as a wedding dress (another story for another time), I should make sure I keep the veil preserved, because it’s “so pretty, it could become a family heirloom.”

View of the Veil

Another reason to love the veil: I could drape it strategically across my arm to hide a little flab

All veil love aside, the thing I didn’t love about it was that it was a little weighty. I imagined my head tilting backwards by the end of the night, weighed down by beaded lace…plus I wasn’t in love with the headband I had bought and insisted that I’d be ditching that after the ceremony (which I didn’t, but whatever), so in one of my many self-indulgent moments, I went to etsy and bought myself a hair flower:

Hair Flower from Brenda's Bridal Veils on Etsy - isn't Etsy the BEST?!

The plan was to have my friend Jen put the flower in my hair early so no one would have to carry it or remember it pre-reception, placing it low enough in my hair that it wasn’t a distraction. I think we pulled it off just fine in the end.

Hairflower, headband, veil - rockin' everything at once...

My sister saw my hair flower and really liked it, and she might’ve even hinted around that she wanted one. We-ell, what she did know is that I wanted her to stand out and feel special as my MOH, and if that meant having a hair flower, I was all for it. What she didn’t know is that I had bought her a special clutch for her MOH goody bag:

MOH clutch, also an Etsy purchase

and, as much as I love my sister-bestie-MOH, I had kinda stretched the budget and couldn’t swing a $50+ hair flower….but…I really wanted to make it happen, so I hunted for hair flower tutorials. Luckily, I only had to look as far as weddingbee to find this fantastic tutorial by Mrs. Pineapple. Simple, straightforward. I could totally do this (oh, and at this point we were t-minus 7 days to the wedding I think) – and do it fast.

My sister and I went to Michael’s and JoAnn’s for supplies, and found the fake flowers at each place were gross. We ended up at AC Moore, on the hunt for the perfect navy flowers. Ugh. Horrible selection. In the end we decided to go with cream colored flowers instead – better selection by far – with navy beads in the center. This was one of the cheapest DIY’s I did for the wedding – I bought silk peonies, beads and a barrette. I had clear beading line at home that I was planning to use for the assembly, so the final price for this was less than $10.

I wish I had taken pictures while doing this project, but I didn’t 😦 the good thing is it’s SUPER easy 🙂 I took apart the silk peonies (I think I bought 2) and arranged the pieces of the flower by size. I just stacked the pieces, one on top of the other, rotated the petals here and there, added some small pieces to the top, ’til I had the look I was going for, then glued them together with a glue gun. While you could finish the flower with a glue gun, I don’t trust glue, so I chose to sew the rest. We chose a bunch of navy crystal-like beads and sewed them in the middle of the flower. Here’s another tutorial from wedding be that explains the sewing process a little better. Once the beads and petals were secure, I sewed the flower to a barrette with some clear beading line. I went over the barrette with as many rows of stitches as I could without adding bulk to ensure security!

It took less than a half hour to make my sister a hair flower, but we both loved the results. Everything came together so beautifully, and I loved the fact that we were the only two rocking hair flowers on the wedding day:

You can see my sister's hair flower peeking out of the side of her head...

Here's a better view of the flower (she's cracking us up, clearly)

As you can see, the hair flowers stayed put. We are probably gossiping here, tee hee.

Knowing now how easy it was to put this flower together, I would’ve probably made my own (not that mine wasn’t absolutely lovely, but I could’ve made one for a fraction of the price I paid!). You can really dress up a DIY one with feathers or rhinestones – or better yet, a really fabulous rhinestone button or sparkly pin for the middle. If you have the time, why not make one for each of your bridesmaids? If they don’t want to put it in their hair, you could put a pin on the back and your girls could put it on their dresses or purse…the possibilities are really endless for this fast and fabulous DIY project. Plus, now that you have the skills, you could make a coordinating hair flower for any fancy occasion!

Leave a Reply

