How To: Make (sort of) Your Own Invitation Suite Pt II

Ok, Pt I left off with the anticipation of some manual labor (and a word-heavy post – this one is picture-heavy and therefore, more fun!). Pocket folds, colors, and envelopes had been chosen, CatPrint had finished out printing order. Time to assemble!

Assembling the pocketfolds was a decent amount of work, but we only had about 70 invites to pull together, so this was done in a day. I set up a little wedding-invite-assembly table in my parent’s porch:

It helps having all the supplies you need in one place!

And of course after falling in love with the copper paper from Paper Source, I realize that in order for it to even show, I’d have to cut down the excess edges on my invites. Argh! Luckily, my sister lent me her great paper cutter.

Cutting down the edges

Oh, another important note here – adhesive. Let this become your new best friend:

Taper Runner XL – be sure to choose the “Permanent” adhesive so your wedding invites don’t fall apart!

This little thingie dispenses adhesive when you roll it along the edges of whatever paper you’re planning on sticking to your pocketfold. You don’t have to worry about the lumps and bumps glue and glue sticks leave behind, plus there’s no drying time. When you’re doing a big project like wedding invites, it may seem as though the tape runner doesn’t last very long, but it’s totally worth it. Stock up on a few refills while your in the store. I still have a couple of these babies (of course I bought multiples in my planning-induced fog) and I use them making cards and gift tags – they’re great!

Make sure everything is centered! You can reposition a little once the adhesive is on the paper, but it’s not a good idea to be moving everything around.

I decided to put a navy piece of paper in the pocketfold to serve as a backdrop for our inserts

Once the main invites were in place, our inserts were ready to placed in the pockets. We included RSVP cards, an Additional Info card, and of course, our map.

Our lovely RSVP cards were part of our invitation suite from A Printable Press:

A Printable Press’s “All Lit Up” RSVP

RSVP – We stuck with postcard format so people could just drop the card in the mail. We did all we could to maximize RSVP’s including giving people a lengthy cushion for sending it back to us!

I saw a tip online about using an invisible ink pen (readable with a UV light) to number each RSVP in case they were sent back blank. Though I thought this was a little silly I did it – which came in handy when we received multiple RSVP’s back without names!

I used some flat card packs from Paper Source to print up the Additional Information card and ceremony/reception maps.

We included this “Additional Info” Card in the invitation – it listed the address of the reception site, hotel information, and the address to our wedding website

Our wedding map was a labor of love (more on this later) – since the distance between the ceremony site and reception site was less than three miles but not exactly direct, I decided to include the map along with the other inserts.

Wedding map! I’ll explain how I made this in another post….

Completed wedding invitation suite – I thought it looked snazzy!

With the pocketfolds complete, we just needed to add the finishing touch. As I mentioned in the Pt I post, I took a wedding invitation class at The Paper Source, which is the first place I had ever seen/heard of “belly bands” – a piece of ribbon or paper that goes around your pocket fold to keep your invitation closed. Totally unnecessary, but very pretty nevertheless. I thought I’d go with the paper I had used to make the vellum STD envelope liners, but I found a piece of flat paper at The Paper Source that kind of blew my mind – pearlized ivory filigree paper that was just the right combo of subtle and elegant:

Pearlized Ivory Filigree paper from The Paper Source

It looked wonderful layered on top of a navy piece of paper. We completed the look with a gold piece of DMC thread.

Is it vain to admire your own handiwork? Probably. But I have to say, I loved the finished product so much, I made one for myself to scrapbook.

Spare invite for me to scrapbook

I was going to talk about envelopes, calligraphy, and stamps next, but if I’ve managed to hold your attention this long, you deserve a break. More on the rest of the invite details later!

Our photog took this fabulous picture of our finished invite – make sure you send your photographer an invitation (or have one on hand for them) – this is the first page of our album!

Leave a Reply

