How To: Stamps and Envelopes

After putting so much effort into the wedding invitations, I wanted the accompanying envelopes to look as pretty as possible. While I already owned an envelope liner template (Paper-Source, AGAIN!) I had to decide whether I was going to use just one envelope with the invite enclosed, or go fancy with two envelopes, an outer envelope with the invitee’s name and address and an inner envelope with just the invitee’s name. How could I resist being a little bit fancy?! After consulting Martha regarding some etiquette questions I had about addressing the envelopes, I went to work.

I decided to go with navy inner envelopes and eco white outer envelopes, both from the Paper Source. I used the same pearlized filigree paper from the belly bands to make the envelope liners for the inner navy envelopes

Pearlized filigree paper lined the inner envelopes – it coordinated with the invitation belly bands!

but decided to leave the outer envelopes unlined.

While the whole “print out script and retrace in fancy pen to look like calligraphy” plot did NOT work on the STD’s, given the color and size of the navy envelopes, the result was much more satisfactory for the inner envelopes. Once I had set up a word template to the dimensions of my envelopes, all I had to do was print (and print, and print, and print again) each envelope (using Scriptina font), then retraced with a gold pen.

I used three fonts during this whole wedding process: Albemarle swash, scriptina pro, and copperplate gothic. The names here were printed in albemarle swash, with black ink on the navy envelope, then retraced with a gold pen

I love the contrast of the navy and ecowhite envelopes!

I decided to use the same printing strategy on the outer envelopes as I did for the STD envelopes – navy font, with names in Scriptina and addresses in Copperplate Gothic Light. Not only did this 1. save money (no calligraphy cost) 2. save time but also 3. kept a theme going. Yes, this is just a small detail, but it was nice to continue the use of the Scriptina/Copperplate font combo.

sorry for the less than stellar photo – this was taken waaay after the fact….after I dug my invitation out of my scrapbook. The originals were prettier and uncreased!

Once again, return addresses were stamped and embossed with the stamp I purchased on etsy. Do note the awesomeness of calligraphy in the picture below, however. If your budget allows and that’s what you’re into, I say go for it! Even better if you have nice handwriting and can pull off doing your own calligraphy. The results can be super-gorgeous.

When it came to stamps, I was in a conundrum. I wanted something special (of course I did, ha) – you know, something delightful and whimsical like the invitations featuring vintage stamps that you see featured on wedding blogs these days:

Vintage stamp look

The problem was the fact that I did not want to pay more than face value for my stamps (OK, not too much more than face value) and I wanted them to be relevant to some sort of theme. Since birds were already a part of our wedding, I began searching the internet for bird stamps. I found this link, which featured all the US-issued bird stamps – and I noticed that smack in the middle, was a US state birds series. YES! 50 stamps to a set. Since I had been to the Post Office for a pre-mailing-weigh-in, I knew each envelope, with the exception of the one going to England, would cost $1.00 to mail. I had 70 invitations to mail, which meant I just needed to track down 7 sets of the state bird stamps to mail all my invites. The same site also featured some tropical bird stamps that would be enough to cover the RSVP post cards. If I could find enough stamps for both the invites and RSVPs, I could stick with my nice little bird theme.

State Bird Stamps!!

eBay became my new best friend (and remained so through more than one search for the perfect wedding-related item!). With a bit of strategic planning, I was able to buy enough bird stamps to cover the postage for all of my invites and RSVPs. This often took patience – I couldn’t (budgetarily) afford to get caught up in a bidding war that would push the price of the stamps to more than face value. Since I was looking to send out invitations in July/August for an October wedding, I did have time to bide my time waiting for people to post bird stamps for sale.

When it was time to put the envelopes together, the Tape Runner XL was my friend once again – it saved me from stamp and envelope licking. I loved the effect of the bird stamps too!

Once again, I turned to my etsy-purchased return address stamp and trusty embosser for return addresses on the back of the envelopes. I found a platinum-colored stamp pad at Paper Source that I just loooved, and used some clear embossing powder to complete the look.

Return addresses

More invitation tips:

– when assembling invites, write the RSVP # (if using) on a mini post-it and stick it to the outside of the invite. That way you won’t have to re-open an assembled invitation to check the RSVP #

– keep track of RSVP #’s on a spreadsheet – I created a new column next to everyone’s names I had on my address spreadsheet and filled it in accordingly

– ask if you can hand cancel your own envelopes at the Post Office. The PO near my office promised to hand cancel, and the lady there even hand cancelled the first few envelopes in front of me. Then the rest were dumped into a bin as soon as I left because they arrived streaked with black (from the sorting machine I assume) and generally beat up and crappy looking. I KNOW #firstworldproblems but seriously, if you or a calligrapher puts that much work into something, you want it to arrive looking decent, even if your guests are tossing the envelope in the recycle bin the next day.

– make sure everything you need to include in the invitation is in there! We found out a few weeks after sending out our invites that we would need menu selections ahead of time after all (we had been told that guests could choose their meal at the reception – but to be fair, we were told that nearly 2 years before our wedding and things change! We should have double-checked!) In the end it was ok, we scrambled, made menu cards and got back everyone’s meal choices, but it would’ve been far easier to have sent out those menu cards with the invitations!!

Leave a Reply

